Share This



A Different Past is the long awaited third album from Glasgow four-piece, State Broadcasters. Never ones to rush things, State Broadcasters have meticulously crafted an album which fuses their distinct Scottish sound with sweet pop-soul songs; creating a modern day sophisti-pop record in the process.

State Broadcasters achieved wide critical acclaim for their 2009 debut ‘The Ship and the Iceberg’, and for the 2012 follow up, the darker toned Ghosts We Must Carry, which the Sunday Mail heralded as “one of the best Scots albums of the year”.

The title, A Different Past, is a slight at the nostalgia industry as the album encourages the listener to believe that we now live in a kinder and fairer society than we ever have done, despite all the bad news of our current political landscape.
We should embrace the world we live in today rather than revisiting and revising memories of our youth and trying to convince ourselves it really was all great fun. The album also showcases a more playful, upbeat side of the band, while containing enough of their trademark tear jerking melancholia to keep long term fans happy…ish.

The band began when now former member Graeme Black (guitar, vocals) met Pete MacDonald (piano, trombone, vocals) in a library in Glasgow in 2004. After bumping into each other at various gigs and bonding over their love of Lambchop and Clem Snide they tried playing some songs together in Graeme’s kitchen and it wasn’t before long that they called themselves the State Broadcasters. Following the departures of Graeme and longtime multi-instrumentalist Fergus MacDonald since the release of ‘Ghosts…’, the Broadcasters are now a 4-piece, comprising of Pete, Gillian Fleetwood (clarsach, vocals and keyboards), Cameron Maxwell (bass and vocals) and David McGinty (guitar and vocals). Occasionally they are joined by Susan Appelbe on cello and Andrew Samson on drums when they’re feeling bombastic.

‘A Different Past’ is released in March 2017 on Olive Grove Records